Unrated player Basant Singh caused an upset in the Eldeco All india International Rating Chess Tournament-2010 when he defeated rated player Vikalp Shukla of Varanasi in the second round, in Lucknow on Monday. In another interesting match, rated player Ayush Pandey settled for a draw against unrated player Abhijeet Srivastava.

Grand Master Sriram Jha and International Master Dinesh Kumar Sharma both won their games with good ease. Arif Mohammad also played well against Deepak Katiyar, but Deepak used his experience and won the match.

The tournament is being organised by the Lucknow District Chess Academy under the aegis of UP Chess Sports Association at Moti Mahal, Lucknow. The duration of the tournament is from November 14 to 18. The tournament was inaugurated on Sunday by Deepak Kumar (IAS).

The Results: (Round-2):- GM Sriram Jha beat Vimlesh Kumar Singh; IM Dinesh Kumar Sharma beat Amir Ali Khan; Deepak Katiyar beat Arif Mohammad; Govind Kumar beat Rajiv Arora; Ashutosh Kumar beat Manoj Bhatnagar.

The Annual General Meeting of the Lucknow Billiards Snooker Association was held at the MB Club on Sunday evening. The LBSA elections were also organised on the occasion. Joint Secretary, Prashant Verma was elected unanimously as the new honorary secretary of the association while Aalam Ali Khan was re-elected as its president. The full executive will hold office till March 31, 2013. IS Malik was re-elected as the chief examiner, chief referee and media manager.

The office-bearers include: President: Aalam Ali Khan; Vice presidents: Udai Bir Singh, Naeem Ahmad; Honorary secretary: Prashant Verma;Honorary treasurer: Hemant Kumar Singh; Honorary joint secretaries: Iqbal Ali Abbasi, Alok Kapoor; Executive Members: Kirti Khanna, JS Kaul, MK Tripathi, Ravi Prakash Mishra and SI Farooque.

… contd.