Final Standings:

7.5 points — IM Oliver Dimakiling (PHI), IM Oliver Barbosa (PHI)

7 points — GM Niaz Murshed (BAN)

6.5 points — IM Luis Chiong (PHI), IM Yves Ranola (PHI)

points — IM Mas Hafizulhelmi (MAS), FM Haridas Pascua (PHI), Tan Khai
Boom (MAS), NM Edgard Reggie Olay (PHI), FM Julius Joseph de Ramos
(PHI), NM Ian Cris Udani (PHI), Edward Lee (MAS), FM Christopher
Castellano (PHI), Andre Jerome (PHI), and Ng Tze Han (MAS).

Malaysia, Dec. 14 (PNA) — The Philippines’ International Master (IM)
Oliver Dimakiling emphasized his claim as one of the country’s top
player when he nipped countryman and fellow IM Oliver Barbosa in the
tie-break to rule the 2010 Penang International Open Chess Championships
in Malaysia on Sunday.

fourth-ranked Dimakiling, former top player of De La Salle University
(DSLU)-Taft, finished with a nine-round total of 7.5 points on six wins
and three draws to annex his first major title this year.

veteran campaigner from Davao City, playing under the banner of
National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) president/chairman
Prospero “Butch” Pichay Jr., finished tied for first with the top-seeded
Barbosa but won the title with a superior tie-break score of 54.5
against the latter’s 53.5.

the victory, Dimakiling and Barbosa’s performance boosted the nation’s
morale, said NCFP president/chairman and Local Water Utilities
Administration chair Pichay.

again, our flag has been raised in the foreign land after knowing that
our Filipino kababayan Oliver Dimakiling and Barbosa shared the top
honors in the Penang Open Chess meet,” he said.

the final round, Dimakiling split the point with compatriot IM Luis
Chiong of Antique while Barbosa, who hails from Taytay, Rizal outduelled
another Pinoy entry and National Master (NM) Ian Cris Udani of Bacolod

Niaz Murshed of Bangladesh trounced IM Yves Ranola of Caloocan City to
clinch solo third place with seven points and prevent a possible
Filipino-dominated event.

Chiong and Ranola, both finished tied for fourth to fifth with 6.5 points.

Philippine artist champion FIDE Master (FM) Christopher Castellano of
Cainta, Rizal, who is seeking his IM title, blasted Ismail Ahmad of
Malaysia to lead a big group of players with six points.

included Udani, FM Haridas Pascua of Mangatarem, Pangasinan, NM Edgard
Reggie Olay of Davao City and FM Julius Joseph de Ramos of Manila, IM
Mas Hafizulhelmi, Edward Lee, Ng Tze Han and Tan Khai Boom of Malaysia
and Andre Jerome of Singapore. (PNA)