Dec. 18 (PNA) — Another tight battle is seen when the 2010 National
Inter-Cities and Municipalities chess team championship gets underway on
Dec. 18 with more than 30 teams seeing action at the People’s Astrodome
in Dagupan City.

Wesley So makes a rare appearance when he spearheads Metro Manila
Development Authority-Makati in the two-day competition organized by the
National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) under
president/chairman Prospero “Butch” Pichay, and supported by the Dagupan
City government.

So, easily the brightest player in the country today, will play top board for MMDA-Makati of chairman Francis Tolentino.

of So’s teammates in the Philippine team which bagged the silver medal
in the Asian Games in Guangzhou –- GMs John Paul Gomez and Darwin Laylo
-– are also competing in the annual tournament which offers the top
prize of P70,000 to the champion.

Gomez will banner Quezon City-Local Water Utilities Administration-A, while Laylo will carry the fight for Mandaluyong City.

to challenge the three teams for supremacy are Antipolo City, which
will be bannered by IM Oliver Barbosa; Malabon City of IM Barlo Nadera;
Tagaytay City of NM Edmundo Gatus; Pasay City of NM Allan Cantonjos;
Pasig City of Dennis San Juan and Palawan of veteran non-master Verth

Also entered is Ruperto’s Binalonan of Vice Mayor Renato Legaspi.

will field Roderick Nava (board 1), Chester Guerrero (board 2), Ali
Guya (board 3), Vince Medina (board 4) and Lito Dormitorio (board 5).
Quezon City-Philippine National Police will also field a team built
around Ali Branzuela.

LWUA is also fielding two more teams –- LWUA-B of Haridas Pascua and LWUA-C of Cristy Lamiel Bernales.

other entries are Angeles City, Bacolod, Bataan, Binangonan, Bulacan,
Cabanatuan, Camarines Sur, Cavite City-1, Cavite City-2, Davao, Laoag,
La Union-1, La Union-2, Muntinlupa, Naga, Nueva Ecija, Tuguegarao,
Valenzuela and Vigan.

The team managers meeting is set at 10 a.m. Saturday, while the opening ceremony is scheduled at 1 p.m. on the same day.

The champion in the prestigious, season-ending tournament will bring home the top prize of P70,000 and trophy.

The runner-up and the third placer will receive P50,000 and P30,000, respectively.

The fourth up to the 10th placers will get P25,000, P20,000, P10,000, P8,000, P7,000, P6,000 and P5,000, respectively.

inquiries, call NCFP secretariat at tel. 02-3817224 or call or text
NCFP executive/event director Willie Abalos at cell. 0929-2266210 or
Ilann Perez at cell. 0905-3269576 or Ms. Ana Mendoza of Dagupan City
Mayor’s Office at cell. 0923-5127886 or 0939-3617282. (PNA)