Chinmay Kulkarni emerged champion in the Every Sunday Open Blitz Chess Championship organised by Sports Star Club of Bibvewadi at VIT Seminar hall.

Kulkarni came first with 6 points and earned himself Rs 1000 and a trophy, said a press release.

Gaurav Konde was placed second with 5.5 points and earned Rs 600 along with a trophy while Shailesh Jaiswal came in third with 5.5 points and 22 buchals. Kapil Lohana and Sohan Barkale came in fourth and fifth place respectively.

The under-7 trophy went to Parth Khare; under 9 trophy went to Sushrut Waghmare; the best under 11 trophy went to Gaurav Hagawane; the best under 13 trophy went to Siddhant Gaikwad; the best under 15 trophy went to Sujit Sawala; the best under 17 trophy went to Champak Dixit.

Akanksha Hagawane won the Best ladies trophy while Prakash Karmarkar won the best veterans trophy.

Top Five:

1. Chinmay Kulkarni; 6.0 points, 22.0 buchals

2. Gaurav Konde; 5.5 points, 24.0 buchals

3. Shailesh Jaiswal; 5.5 points, 22.0 buchals

4. Kapil Lohana; 5.0 points, 22.0 buchals

… contd.