Watch the latest videos on YouTube.com–>

Bhubaneswar: Kalinga Chess Academy in collaboration with Khurda District Chess association is organising the 37th Women Premier Chess Championships at Infosys campus here on Saturday.

In the opening round Pratyusha Boda of Andhra Pradesh held second seed Eesha Karavade of Maharashtra to a draw to a cause mini upset in the opening round. Eleven players, including top seed Tania Sachdev (Delhi), Odisha’s Women Grand Master Padmini Rout and Kiran Manisha Mohanty registered wins.

Altogether 24 women, two IMs and six WGMs including State Woman Grand Master Kiran Manisha Mohanty, Padmini Raut and Aparajita Gochhikar joined the 11-round championship. Speaking on the occasion, AICF secretary announced that the prize fund of the championship has been enhanced from `2.50 lakh to `3.40 lakh. Accordingly, the champion will receive `1 lakh instead of `75,000. Results (Round 1): Amrutha Mokal lost to Tania Sachdev (1), Eesha Karavade (0.5) drew with Pratyusha Bodda (0.5), R Preethi lost to Padmini Rout (1), Soumya Swaminathan (1) beat S Harini, A Akshaya lost to Nisha Mohota (1), Mary Ann Gomes (1) beat Sonakshi Rathore, A Sithalatchumi lost to Swathi Ghate (1), Kiran Manisha Mohanty (1) beat Shweta Gole, Minki Sinha lost to J Saranya (1), Rucha Pujari (1) bt Aparajita Gochhikar, Arunima Kalra lost to R Bharathi (1), Swati Mohota (1) beat JG Nivedhitha.