BroadwayWorld, the biggest theater site on the web, today announces the winners of its 2010 BroadwayWorld Chicago Awards! Productions and artists representing thirteen shows have come out on top, after online voting by fans of Chicago theater from November 1 through December 20, 2010. The 121 nominees in the 25 categories were drawn from 57 different Theater Productions in the Chicago area which opened between September 1, 2009 and August 31, 2010.

The highly regarded production of RAGTIME at the Drury Lane Theater received the most awards, with four, including Best Ensemble (Resident). Cory Goodrich was recognized by fans for her performance as Mother, receiving the award for Best Actress in a Musical or Revue (Resident). The production also garnered two awards for Design at a Resident company, for the Scenic Design of Kevin Depinet and the Costume Design by Santo Loquasto and Brenda Winstead (Loquasto’s costumes for the original Broadway production were used, with additional pieces by Winstead). 

Interestingly, RAGTIME did not win the award for Best Revival of a Musical (Resident Equity). That honor was taken by the late summer production of JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR at Munster, Indiana’s Theatre at the Center, which also took home the Resident Equity awards for Best Choreography (Stacey Flaster) and Best Actor in a Musical or Revue (Max Quinlan as Jesus). 

Two other productions received award recognition three times. The Resident Non-Equity revival of THE PHILADELPHIA STORY by Circle Theatre won in the categories of Best Revival of a Play, and Best Actress and Best Actor in a Play (Laura McClain and Josh Hambrock). (Circle was responsible for a fourth award as well, for Best Resident Non-Equity Costume Design going to Jesus Perez for THE BEST LITTLE WHOREHOUSE IN TEXAS). 

And the Resident Non-Equity production of CHESS at Theo Ubique Cabaret Theatre won three awards as well, for Best Revival of a Musical, Best Choreography (Brenda Didier) and Best Actor in a Musical or Revue (Jeremy Trager as Anatoly). Interestingly, Trager bested two other actors from the same production, as well as two actors from the well-received Bailiwick Chicago production of AIDA. AIDA had five award nominations in all, but was shut out. So was Theo Ubique’s MAN OF LA MANCHA, also with five nominations, and THE BROTHER/SISTER PLAYS at Steppenwolf Theater Company, which was nominated four times. 

Two of the losses incurred by THE BROTHER/SISTER PLAYS were in categories that went to A STREETCAR NAMED DESIRE at Writers’ Theatre. David Cromer‘s summer production was named Best Revival of a Play (Resident Equity) and Natasha Lowe was named Best Actress in a Play (Resident Equity) for her depiction of Blanche DuBois. 

Two other productions won two awards: FOUR PLAY by Amanda Murphy and Jamie Campbell was named Best New Work/New Adaptation (Resident), and Heather Bodie was named Best Actress in a Musical or Revue (Resident Non-Equity) for her work as Lydia. Though Murphy and Campbell are active in the city’s improv scene, FOUR PLAY was a scripted work which played at Studio BE in late spring. 

As these awards recognize excellence as voted by the fans of Chicagoland theater, and encompass all of the various forms and sizes of theater here (from tours to resident productions, large to small, Equity to Non-Equity, play, musical and revue), it is exciting to announce that the touring production of DREAMGIRLS that originated at New York’s Apollo Theater and played Chicago’s Cadillac Palace Theatre won the awards for Best Actress and Best Actor in a Touring Production. The honors went to Moya Angela, for her searing portrayal of Effie, and to Chicago native Chester Gregory, appearing as James “Thunder” Early. DREAMGIRLS did not win the award for Best Touring Production, however. That honor went to BILLY ELLIOT, which played a long but ultimately shortened run at the Ford Center for the Performing Arts, Oriental Theatre. 

Besides DREAMGIRLS, the Cadillac Palace was host to another production which won a BroadwayWorld Chicago Award: AN EVENING WITH Patti LuPone AND Mandy Patinkin was named Best Special Theatrical Event. Just a couple of blocks away from the Palace is the Goodman Theatre, where the double bill of HUGHIE and KRAPP’S LAST TAPE won the nationally known Brian Dennehy the award for Best Actor in a Play (Resident Equity). The world famous Second City e.t.c. won the award for Best Revue (Resident) for the ongoing show, THE ABSOLUTE BEST FRIGGIN’ TIME OF YOUR LIFE. And Bailiwick Chicago’s summer production of Tony Award winner Joe DiPietro‘s new play FUCKING MEN, nominated six times, was honored as the Best for John Rotonda‘s Scenic Design (Resident Non-Equity).