Kolkata: The seeded players sailed through their first round games at the Telegraph Schools’ Chess Championship, being held at Gorky Sadan on Saturday.

Former world U-12 champion and defending champion Sayantan Das of Scottish Church Collegiate School had an easy outing against Joy Majumdar of Shree Bharti School winning in 42 moves.

Former Asian U-8 Champion Prince Bajaj of Delhi Public School, Ghaziabad, defeated K Lalrinfela of Oxford Mission School, Mizoram, playing with black pieces.

Reigning U-13 champion Diptayan Ghosh of South Point School also easily overcame Kalpok Guha of Patha Bhabhan settling the issue in only 12 moves.

Current Commonwealth U-12 champion Sidhant Mohapatra of Saraswati Sishumandir (Orissa) didn’t turn up giving a walkover to Kamal Sarkar of Shri Shikshayatan.